top of page

Pilates Teacher Interview with Nicola Kidney

1. Which part of kent are you based/teach in? A: I live in Sittingbourne but teach classes around Medway.

2. What was your first experience in pilates like? Do you remember your first class? A:My first experience of Pilates was actually on the training course! I was working as fitness manager for a major health club chain back in 1999 and they had arranged for myself and another instructor to attend a training course with Michael King I had no idea what Pilates was! I attended the training and hated it!! But I had to teach it because the course had been paid for by the company. I’m not sure why I hated it back then, it probably was because it was so different to all the other classes that was around at the time and I didn’t understand it. I was being taken out of my comfort zone big time!

I totally remember my first Pilates class! It was a Tuesday 6pm. I was so scared about teaching it as nobody knew what it was. Class was fully booked but I’m sure it was out of peoples curiosity!

3. Who inspired you to become a pilates teacher, what was that first moment when you realized a career in pilates was for you? A:Well I kind of had Pilates forced upon me! But it was when I started to notice the changes in my body the pain I had in my knees and back disappeared. Class participant were commenting on how much better they felt after class. I was curious and wanted to know more…..

4. Is there anybody who has particularly inspired or influenced you in your career and why? A:Michael King as my first Pilates instructor and I continued my training with him and the Pilates institute over the years. Kelly Cullen Snr was my first instructor and my introduction into the health and fitness industry. Kelly is one of the most inspirational women I know. I joined her pop mobility class at the swallows (when I personally wasn’t in a good place) it was her encouragement, support and that I was made to feel welcomed that made me want to be an instructor and help people the way she helped me. And more recently Sue Hitzmann her knowledge and passion for helping people deal with chronic pain is mind blowing!

4. Who did you undertake your training with and why? A:I originally trained with Michael King at the Pilates Institute in 1999 and continued to do various other training's with them including remedial, back care, Advanced etc (before Pilates qualifications were standardized) I did APPI Matwork 1,2 and 3. I did my Pilates L3 diploma with Rachel Holmes fitness Pilates. Plus so many other Pilates courses over the years. I’m also qualified L3 Exercise referral, L4 BACPR cardiac rehab, L4 exercise and cancer rehab, L4 exercise after stroke, L4 Lower back pain, L4 neurological conditions, Advanced level Melt method instructor.

5. What was the last workshop or course you went on? A: The last workshop/course I did was Optimal health after hysterectomy with Burrell education. Highly recommended.

6. Explain what Pilates means to you in one sentence. A:Pilates to me is to give people the tools (movements) to empower them to take control of their Quality of life.

7. Which Pilates exercise is your favourite? A:I do love a shoulder bridge. So many variations that can be done and I am bit obsessed about activating Glutes so any exercise that involves glutes really.

8. Which is your nemeses or least favorite? A:The hundred!!

9. If there was one word in your Pilates vocabulary that get used the most, what would that be? A:Control

10. What’s in your pilates bag today? A:Resistance bands, 2 pairs of grippy socks, Melt balls, approx 20 cds in 2 cases (should really transfer them onto my I pod!) bounce protein bar, pelvic floor book.

11. If you weren’t a Pilates teacher what job would you be doing instead? A:If I could turn back time I would have liked to have trained to be a doctor or naturopathic doctor!

Thank you Nicola Kidney


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page