top of page

The Hundreds! Wait, What?

Wait, what! The hundreds! No way! You’ll only see me doing the hundred once in pilates, Thousands no! and if you ask me to do it twice in one session, I’ll say no way! #thehundred #notthousands

So lets clarify the benefits; it strengthens the abdominals, powerhouse and the glutes, it’s breathing exercise. It’s a warm up! It's great for concentration, focus and control. Finally it’s a preparation for the roll up! (in my personal practice I really can't do the roll up unless I've warmed with the hundred first)

My tips for class; I always make a point of telling my class that achieving the hundred is like running the marathon; it’s the ultimate goal (for some!) however you need to start slowly and build up to 100 pumps. Don’t expect to do 100 straight away at week one. Especially if you only are practicing once a week. Try it first see what you can achieve, see how it feels! go from there and set your self up for success!

The Hundred (ish) make sure you count! It takes approximately 40 secs on the clock. Go try it! Time yourself! How long did it take? let me know!

When you read Return to Life, Joe Pilates writes;

"begin only with 20 movements and

gradually increase them in units of

5 additional movements each time until a

maximum of 100 is reached

Never exceed 100 movements"

Believe it or not I have a few clients like like to push to do more than 100 or will do it twice in a group apparatus class (when my back is turned). More recently I've stopped counting so that they can learn to count for themselves and take ownership over the exercise but this is where they catch me out and you'll hear me shout! it's the hundred not thousands!

It’s a challenge! Some clients do like a challenge. It’s a goal for them, they want to achieve it! My male clients especially take the challenge on board. If it’s your personal nemeses don’t make it your clients, it could be or might their favorite exercise. Some clients like to work to achieve goals for personal success.

Variation: In a group session I've found the most effective way to help achieve the full exercise is with the foam roller placed underneath the ankles with the legs out straight to encourage length throughout the body and especially in the front of the hips. It’s as close to the classical hundred as I can get without over loading the LB for clients with this restriction in mind but it gives those in my class who are fit and healthy the option to try lifting the legs using the power house, glutes and abdominals when they are ready, wanting or willing to deepen their practice. Please note though I am very strict these days that anyone with LB issues should be in a private or back care class not intermediate.

Using the roller also gives my class the option of bending their knees in by rolling the roller back in towards the hips for a lighter option if they are tired that day. No roller? my other option is pressing the feet into the wall (legs straight) which I have found can help them to find that 2 way stretch by connecting to the wall and closing the chain by pressing out the energy though the legs. In an apparatus session the reformer places more emphasis into the upper body connection through the arms and lats which helps the deepen the abdominal connection and closes the chain even more.

When it’s not suitable? I make it accessible, using over balls or pillows behind the head (if not flexing forwards in a beginners class or private) or by using the large stability ball so the neck is supported and the focus is on the glutes and hip stability (rather than thoracic flexion) or I break down the exercise even further focusing on the breathing pattern or the arm work with a theraband in tabletop.

What do you use? Do you teach the full hundred version or break it down? What are your thoughts? ideas or favorite variations and why? Please comment below!

Thanks for reading! you can contact me at dee@yourbodypilates.co.uk


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page