top of page

Pilates Teacher Interview with Kerry Ann Yazdanfar


1. Which part of kent are you based in?

Maidstone/Rochester,

2. What was your first experience in pilates like? Do you remember your first class?

I went along to my first Pilates class and was a little confused about the set up & the lateral breathing. I was intrigued though, returned and never looked back. The first Pilates class I taught was a cover class. I had 23 people lined up. 3 had MS, 4 pregnancies and one Lupus sufferer. I nearly ran out of the club, but pre screened, advised 4 not to do the class and gave the reasons why. I came out exhausted, read up upon medical/physical conditions I did not know much about, and told myself I would learn from each attendee.

3. Who or what inspired you to become a pilates teacher, what was that first moment when you realized a career in pilates was for you!

I had been teaching ETM classes for 3 years. Nicola Kidney was a Pilates Instructor who I admired. Her style of teaching was professional, yet friendly, and she was open to questions. I soon realised that practising Pilates was strengthening me more than anything else I was teaching/practising. I was quite passionate about the discipline pretty early on. I teach mainly Pilates, but I still love to teach Yoga, Body Conditioning, and Weighted Workout classes. I am also teaching many older clients, my eldest is 87! She told me she has finally found her pelvic floor in her 80's.

4. Is there anybody who has particularly inspired or influenced you in your career and why?

Joseph Pilates and Darcy Bussell. I am inspired by all I teach.

4.b: Who did you undertake your training with and why:

Future Fit. Studied/practised over weekends. I did three individual modules, upto Advanced. I have attended ad hoc Pilates day training courses with them.

5. What was the last workshop or course you went on?

Level 3 Pre & Post Natal Fitness with Premier

Currently studying Level 3, Award in Designing Exercise Programmes for Older Adults.

6. Explain what Pilates means to you in one sentence.

Re aligning, strengthening & lengthening.

7. Which Pilates exercise is your favorite

Corkscrew!

8. Which is your nemeses or least favorite.

I do not have one.

9. If there was one word in your Pilates vocabulary that get used the most, what would that be?

Tighten.

10. What’s in your pilates bag today?

2 blocks, 2 mats, a tennis ball, Dyna band, phone, charge, notebook, pen, water, nuts and an apple.

11. If you weren’t a Pilates teacher what job would you be doing instead?

Hospitality.

You can find out more about Kerry and her classes here:

http://www.kore-fitness.co.uk/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page